you're welcome

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Post Reply

in your opinion, what's the better translation for "you're welcome"?

Poll ended at Thu May 13, 2004 5:35 pm

aufer mihi ista
0
No votes
aliud cura
2
50%
nihil laboris est
2
50%
 
Total votes: 4

tadwelessar
Textkit Neophyte
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 4:51 pm
Location: Italy, Sardinia, Sassari

you're welcome

Post by tadwelessar » Sun Oct 26, 2003 5:35 pm

after the discussion on this subject I would like to ask you:
in your opinion, what's the better translation for "you're welcome"?

tadwelessar
Textkit Neophyte
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 4:51 pm
Location: Italy, Sardinia, Sassari

Post by tadwelessar » Sun Nov 09, 2003 10:29 am

let's vote!

tadwelessar
Textkit Neophyte
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 4:51 pm
Location: Italy, Sardinia, Sassari

Post by tadwelessar » Wed Nov 12, 2003 10:25 pm

vote! vote! vote!

Emma_85
Global Moderator
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: London

Post by Emma_85 » Wed Nov 12, 2003 10:36 pm

I already have, maybe a time machine would be better, though? :wink:
phpbb

Kasper
Textkit Zealot
Posts: 799
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 3:01 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by Kasper » Thu Nov 13, 2003 12:21 am

Living in Australia I'm gonna have to say:

Nilhil curam est socie!

(No worries mate!)

User avatar
Lucus Eques
Textkit Zealot
Posts: 2019
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Post by Lucus Eques » Mon May 24, 2004 5:30 pm

I'd have to go with "nihil laboris est," but many languages have more than one way of saying "you're welcome," including English.
L. Amadeus Ranierius

SCORPIO·MARTIANVS

User avatar
benissimus
Global Moderator
Posts: 2733
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 4:32 am
Location: Berkeley, California
Contact:

Post by benissimus » Thu May 27, 2004 1:19 am

I remain undecided on this. These all seem like modest dismissals and not the true acceptance of thanks that comes with "you're welcome". Just because you reply to "thank you" with any of these does not mean they have the same meaning. Just my two cents...
flebile nescio quid queritur lyra, flebile lingua murmurat exanimis, respondent flebile ripae

Moerus
Textkit Fan
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Lovanium - Leuven (Belgium)

Post by Moerus » Thu May 27, 2004 1:41 am

The normal saying for 'you are welcome' is causa non est.

Post Reply