long α in ἀνήρ

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Constantinus Philo
Textkit Zealot

long α in ἀνήρ

Post by Constantinus Philo »

Bailly says that in arsis a is long, however, in B 1 it is long in a thesis: ἄλλοι μέν ῥα θεοί τε καὶ ἀνέρες ἱπποκορυσταὶ. Maybe, as was common, Bailly confuses the terms arsis and thesis.
Semper Fidelis

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: long α in ἀνήρ

Post by jeidsath »

Yeah, looking at the entry in his dictionary, he seems to mean it Latin-wise, like this in Davies.

Bailly has an entry for ἄρσις which is clear enough, but does not explain how he means it in French.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »

Just a couple of small points. (1) It’s in the trisyllabic epic forms ἀνέρες etc. that the alpha is lengthened, not in ἀνήρ itself.
(2) Given that the meaning of the terms arsis and thesis is sometimes inverted (in German scholarship the arsis is often called Senkung), I reckon they’re beyond rehabilitation, and would best be abandoned. And ictus is something else again, if indeed it’s anything at all; probably that too would best be abandoned. (There was an old thread on this; “ictus fictus" I think Hylander quipped.)

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

And sometimes ictus is identified with ἄρσις, as in the Davies quotation. Or in Goodwin 1621 (and footnote), where he makes it all nice and clear:

https://archive.org/details/greekgramma ... 8/mode/2up