Best way to move through Athenaze Book I

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
AndreiosDiscipulus
Textkit Neophyte

Best way to move through Athenaze Book I

Post by AndreiosDiscipulus »

I'm currently a Greek student at a school in Sydney, Australia and this year I'm taking the Classical Greek Accelerated (GKA) elective that my school offers and as you would expect there are only 4 of us in the entire class compared to around 10 in the regular Greek elective class (GK).

After around 12 hours of Greek in total, we're on 4α of Athenaze Book I. We mainly take turns reading a few sentences of Greek and then translating until the entire translation is done. Sometimes we also go through a few of the grammar exercises. This is very fast as we GKA students need to learn a three-year course in two years (a friend of mine who is in the GK class told me that at this time, his class was still learning the alphabet whereas my teacher went through the alphabet on the first lesson and we just started reading after that).

I always handwrite the entirety of the chapter passage and then translate it in preparation for the class but I've slacked off once or twice so far and the workload is intensifying. My rationale behind doing this is to learn the accents slowly but surely simply by a lot of association with them and also to improve my handwriting speed in Greek. Is this doable long term and is this benefitting me relative to the time I spend on it? I tend to spend a couple of hours on the whole thing either at lunchtime in the library, before school, or after school.