Thucydides 1.55: ἐτύγχανον . . .ὄντες

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
hlawson38
Textkit Zealot

Thucydides 1.55: ἐτύγχανον . . .ὄντες

Post by hlawson38 »

Context: After a sea battle, the Corinthians are dealing with Corcyraean prisoners. Some, being slaves, were sold. However, a smaller group of prisoners received special treatment, in order that Corinth might use them later as Quislings in Corcyrea.
ἐτύγχανον δὲ καὶ δυνάμει αὐτῶν οἱ πλείους πρῶτοι ὄντες τῆς πόλεως.
ἐτύγχανον. . . ὄντες: idiom, Englished as "It happened that . . . they were

δυνάμει: "with respect to political influence" [back in Corcyraea]

*αὐτῶν οἱ πλείους πρῶτοι ὄντες:
"of the prisoners [ αὐτῶν] the greater part [ οἱ πλείους ] were [ ὄντες] among the most influential [πρῶτοι]".

*To form this understanding, i studied the LCL translation, and then stepped through the phrase word-by-word . I often stumble on phrases of this kind (in Greek and Latin) when I don't see how the inflected words fit together to produce a meaning. I wonder if this difficulty fades slowly with practice. Or, is there a more systematic way to learn this more quickly?

I'll add that I was pretty sure that I had a vague general meaning, that "these prisoners were VIPs back in Corcyraea". But I didn't see the relations among the Greek words.
Hugh Lawson

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: Thucydides 1.55: ἐτύγχανον . . .ὄντες

Post by jeidsath »

It was transparent to me, for whatever that's worth. My belief is that people get better at assembling sentences in their heads the more time they spend...assembling sentences in their heads (especially in situations where they are already confident of vocabulary and general sense). For me it helps to re-read a lot. New information seems to pop out as my Greek level improves.