ἀνήνοθε, ἐπενήνοθε

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
bcrowell
Textkit Fan

ἀνήνοθε, ἐπενήνοθε

Post by bcrowell »

Homer occasionally uses these two verbs, meaning "to rise, surface" and "to be on." Some manuscripts spell the first one as ἐνήνοθε. Cunliffe says:
ἀνήνοθε [3 sing., in the first passage of a plupf. (with secondary person-ending), in the second of a pf., fr. ἀνεθ- + ἀνθ-, ἄνθος. (Cf. ἐνήνοθε)]. (ἐπ-.) To come to the surface, come forth: αἷμ’ ἀ. Λ266.-- To rise up, spread upwards: κνίση ἀ. ρ270.
Project Perseus seems to show some confusion or uncertainty, tagging the same form with different part-of-speech tags on different occasions.

Beekes says these are from Doric ἐνθεῖν, to come, go. I guess it's only a coincidence that the dictionary form looks similar to the ablative -θεν. He pooh-poohs Cunliffe's connection to ἄνθος. There is a Doric subjunctive ἔνθω for the verb ἦλθον/ἔρχομαι, but Beekes has the following technical note which, although I don't understand the details, seems to be saying this isn't so:
Since ἐνθεῖν is widespread in Doric, it is. not from ἐλθεῖν (with a limited
dialectal development λτ > ντ).
Is there actually anything mysterious or confusing here, or is this basically just a pretty regular perfect form, for a verb that only survived in one fossilized inflection?
Ben Crowell, Fullerton, California
Ransom is an innovative presentation of Homer made with open-source software: https://bitbucket.org/ben-crowell/ransom

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Re: ἀνήνοθε, ἐπενήνοθε

Post by Hylander »

There are various explanations for this obscure and strange verb, none of them particularly convincing. It crops up in a variety of contexts that don't seem to have much relation to one another. It was part of the epic language, but it's not clear that "Homer" himself had a clear idea of its meaning.