Iliad 7.194-6, praying silently, or -- never mind -- openly is OK

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
bcrowell
Textkit Fan

Iliad 7.194-6, praying silently, or -- never mind -- openly is OK

Post by bcrowell »

In Iliad 7.194-6, Ajax has won the drawing of lots so that he will face Hector in single combat. He tells the other soldiers that while he's getting his gear on, they should pray silently, so that the Trojan's won't know, but then he says they can pray openly if they like, since there is nothing to fear.

...τεύχεα δύω,
τόφρ ̓ ὑμεῖς εὔχεσθε Διὶ Κρονίωνι ἄνακτι
σιγῇ ἐφ ̓ ὑμείων ἵνα μὴ Τρῶές γε πύθωνται,
ἠὲ καὶ ἀμφαδίην, ἐπεὶ οὔ τινα δείδιμεν ἔμπης·

Is there any logic to this? Am I missing some cultural or religious fact?

I don't understand why he would say the one thing and then, seeming to change his mind, say the opposite.

His implication seems to be that if the outcome had been in doubt, then it might have been better to pray secretly. I'm finding that logic convoluted.

If the outcome is to be decided only by the natural results of their prowess, and he knows he's a better fighter than Hector, then it would seem unnecessary to pray at all. If, on the other hand, the result may be determined in whole or in part by the whims of the gods (which we've seen a lot of evidence for earlier), then it would seem important to pray, but irrelevant whether or not the prayer was secret.

Culturally, prayers and sacrifices in the ancient world were often a matter of civic ritual, a sort of glue that would bind society together. If so, then you would pray openly.