ὤλεκε (Pharr)

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Vasile Stancu
Textkit Member

ὤλεκε (Pharr)

Post by Vasile Stancu »

This verbal form is found in exercise 2 (Greek into English), Lesson XI. It is supposed to be, I believe, the aorist of ὀλέκω; it cannot be the imperfect of the same verb, since the imperfect is supposed to have no augment(ὄλεκον).
As I am checking now the translation that I have made of Pharr's Homeric Greek, I would like to fix this detail. I could probably use the form ὤλεσε (ὄλλυμι) and add ὄλλυμι to the vocabulary of Lesson XI. Or, perhaps it would be better to replace the form ὤλεκε with the present form ὀλέκει.
Any suggestion would be warmly welcomed.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: ὤλεκε (Pharr)

Post by jeidsath »

I think the statement "the imperfect is supposed to have no augment" for any word is a bad description of how it works in Homer. The augment for imperfects in Homer is optional, sometimes added, sometimes not (metrically impossible for some forms). For aorists, it almost always shows up in similes and gnomic statements. For iteratives, it's never used. In narrative it's more common than in speeches. For imperfects, it's almost 50/50. It's never used for ὄλεκον, but with only 4 occurrences that's not saying much.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

bcrowell
Textkit Fan

Post by bcrowell »

Some relevant papers:

Decker, https://core.ac.uk/download/pdf/322539654.pdf

Drewitt, J. A. J. (1912). The Augment in Homer. The Classical Quarterly, 6(01), 44. doi:10.1017/s0009838800017523
Ben Crowell, Fullerton, California