Thales

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Thales

Post by jeidsath »

"ἀρχὴν δὲ τῶν πάντων ὕδωρ ὑπεστήσατο, καὶ τὸν κόσμον ἔμψυχον καὶ δαιμόνων πλήρη."

I saw this in the Thales section of Vitae philosophorum. They are from two iambic lines, aren't they?

x _ . _ ἀρχὴν δὲ τῶν πάντων ὕδωρ
τὸν κόσμον ἔμψυχον καὶ δαιμόνων πλήρη
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Re: Thales

Post by Hylander »

The basic scheme of the iambic metron is x _ υ _. The third syllable (leaving aside the possibility of resolutions of long/heavy syllables) in each iambic metron needs to be short/light. και and πλη- don't conform to this.
Last edited by Hylander on Mon Aug 15, 2022 4:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Bill Walderman

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

I think I even wrote a metron in my post...But yes, they are in need of some fixing.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Post by Hylander »

Also, the word breaks are unusual (though not absolutely impermissible). The caesura typically occurs after the initial anceps of the second metron ("penthemimeral"). "Hephthemimeral" caesura are rare. See West, Greek Meter, p. 40.
Bill Walderman

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »