Iliad 2.802: what were the many languages spoken by the Trojans' allies?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
bcrowell
Textkit Fan

Iliad 2.802: what were the many languages spoken by the Trojans' allies?

Post by bcrowell »

Iliad 2.802, Iris speaking to Hector:

Ἕκτορ σοὶ δὲ μάλιστ᾽ ἐπιτέλλομαι, ὧδε δὲ ῥέξαι·
πολλοὶ γὰρ κατὰ ἄστυ μέγα Πριάμου ἐπίκουροι,
ἄλλη δ᾽ ἄλλων γλῶσσα πολυσπερέων ἀνθρώπων·
τοῖσιν ἕκαστος ἀνὴρ σημαινέτω οἷσί περ ἄρχει,
τῶν δ᾽ ἐξηγείσθω κοσμησάμενος πολιήτας.»

I'd had a vague idea that Troy was a Greek colony that was culturally Greek, and that if they spoke a different dialect than the one spoken by the invaders, it was probably a single dialect and in any case all dialects were mutually intelligible. In this passage, are some of the allies non-Greek? Or are they all culturally and linguistically Greek but speaking dialects that are not mutually intelligible? Or is the idea that a commander will be most effective if he can speak to his troops in their own vernacular?

Does this passage tell us anything about the mix of dialects that the Homeric dialect is composed of, or is it irrelevant because the history was written by the victors?
Ben Crowell, Fullerton, California
Ransom is an innovative presentation of Homer made with open-source software: https://bitbucket.org/ben-crowell/ransom

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad 2.802: what were the many languages spoken by the Trojans' allies?

Post by mwh »

It’s a fine paradox that Greeks and Trojans and allies and gods and everyone else all speak exactly the same language, i.e. Homeric Greek. I don’t think this tells us anything at all about the language that the people of Troy will have actually spoken.

theoldlove
Textkit Neophyte

Post by theoldlove »

Deborah Gera in the Homer Encyclopedia has some sensible comments on language in Homer: