How do I edit a previous post that I left?

Enter the Agora to try to communicate with others in Latin and Ancient Greek.
Plebeius
Textkit Neophyte

How do I edit a previous post that I left?

Post by Plebeius »

Perhaps some one would be kind enough to explain to me what probably is obvious to other people.

When I try to edit a post that I previously left, two copies of the post are created. After I have edited the post, and a new version now exists, I wish to delete the old version. However, while there is an X icon above the new version, which allows me to delete the new version, there is no X icon above the old version, which is the one I wish to delete. So I end up deleting the new, edited version, so that there will not be 2 copies of the post.

Aetos
Textkit Zealot

Re: How do I edit a previous post that I left?

Post by Aetos »

Hi Plebeius,
I'm no expert (I think the expert is on vacation!), but I've tried to duplicate your problem and was unsuccessful; however, I can go through the steps that I use to edit my posts and perhaps that'll help:
1. I select the post I want to edit. Of course, one can only edit a post which he has created. Posts which can be edited will have the "pencil" icon above the text box. I'm not sure about this, but I vaguely recall someone saying that after someone replies to your post you can no longer edit it.
2. A page containing my most recent version of my post opens and I make my changes.
3. Sometimes I click "preview" to see how the revised post will appear on the bulletin board. The edited text now appears above the editing box in the form in which it'll appear on the board. You can also use this function when you're composing your original post or reply.
4. When I'm happy with my changes, I click on submit. This overwrites my original text and only the new version should be present on the board. I was not able to produce two copies of the post, i.e. the original and the updated version.