Hello! or should I say Salvete!

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
lozzic
Textkit Neophyte

Hello! or should I say Salvete!

Post by lozzic »

Hello I registered today and thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself to this community, I am from the UK.

I have always had an interest in language, history and especially philosophy. One of the languages which always intrigued me was Latin since it plays an integral part in the three subjects I just mentioned. I am currently studying A level philosophy (I am considering taking this at degree level) and Latin quotes do pop up quite frequently, unfortunately (and annoyingly for me :) ) however I almost always have to turn to the translation in the notes section of whatever I am reading in order to understand it. I personally feel (and I am aware this is a commonly held fact) that in the case of translating languages much of the original meaning is lost. This fact also makes me want to at least get an average understanding of Latin in order to be able to understand quotes, concepts etc. in the way they were intended to be read by the philosopher, author etc. as opposed to having to accept someone else's translation which is rather like looking at the world through frosted glass :lol: .

I am quite impressed by the resources I have found on the web and more specifically on this site related to learning Latin. I hope I do better this time than previous attempts :roll: , the beginning is always the most difficult hurdle.

thesaurus
Textkit Zealot

Post by thesaurus »

Good to have you! Where are you from in the UK? What sort of philosophy are you interested in?

lozzic
Textkit Neophyte

Post by lozzic »