New Forum User - Grk NT Student (Self Teaching at Home)

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
NuGrkStu
Textkit Neophyte

New Forum User - Grk NT Student (Self Teaching at Home)

Post by NuGrkStu » Tue Mar 14, 2017 10:06 pm

Hello All --

I am a NT Greek Student trying to teach myself greek from home. I have read all of I John and am starting GJohn. I'm learning pronunciation by using Vasile Stancu's web site. I began my studies by using Summers Greek Grammar but quickly got overwhelmed with paradigms. So I switched to Dobsons method and then aquired other grammars just to have them around for reference. (Mounce, Robertson, Wallace, Croy, Peter Jones, etc.)

Today I'm going about learning in a more inductive way. I listen to a passage and repeat pronunciations and then I let curiosity about the text dictate what I tackle that day or week (for instance αυτος, ημεις, υμεις jumped out at me as very repetitious in I Jn as well as Def. Art's ο, του, τῳ, τον, οι, των, τοις, τους so I memorized those as well cause they are all over the place and obviously the art. gives you the noun ending.

Then I moved to recognizing the nominative or PAI forms of nouns and verbs within I Jn. I print out a section of I Jn everyday and above the parsed forms of nouns and verbs in the text I practice writing the nominative or PAI form of the word. And I do this every day for about an hour instead of doing crosswords or reading the paper or Sudoku with my coffee. I plan on making it my life long morning ritual.