Having Trouble Getting Approved-- Mods, are you out there?

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
thornsbreak
Textkit Neophyte

Having Trouble Getting Approved-- Mods, are you out there?

Post by thornsbreak » Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:31 pm

Based on Markos' post below regarding new member Thomas, I see that I am not the only one having difficulty getting a new membership approved so I can start productively contributing to this board.

I am an MDiv graduate of St. Vladimir's Orthodox Seminary in New York, and a member of the Orthodox Church (thus I use the modern pronunciation). I've been lurking around the board for quite a while, gaining a lot of insight and tools to help me carry forward in my study of Greek, which I am trying to reclaim from the dusty annals of the past. I'm working through H&Q right now, and hoping to tackle Learn to Read Greek next, from Keller and Russel, before I tackle some graded Greek Readers. My goal is to develop a high level of reading proficiency in Greek from the Attic period up and through late Byzantine/medieval Greek, primarily to enable me to read the Bible and Greek patristic literature up through Gregory Palamas. I'm very interested in the communicative Greek/living language movement, and I'd also really like to develop the spoken/written side of my skills, with the goal of being able to speak basic Koine, and, if I wanted to, to be able to attend liturgical services performed in Greek and understand what's going on.