Acquiring Reading Knowledge of German and Spanish

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
thesaurus
Textkit Zealot

Acquiring Reading Knowledge of German and Spanish

Post by thesaurus »

Can anyone recommend good texts that I could use to acquire a reading knowledge of German and Spanish? I have no experience in either language.

I'm interested in learning these languages in addition to the classics. Since I don't have the freedom to take proper language classes at the moment I thought I may as well study these without the spoken element. I need the reading comprehension for grad school, and I assume it wouldn't be too difficult to proceed from reading to aural comprehension when I have the time to practice. Ideally I would like to be able to read academic and literary works (e.g. comparative/historical linguistics texts, Goethe, Cervantes, Garcia Marquez, Borges, Nietzsche, Unamuno, etc.).

For any of you who have tried this, how do find learning modern languages in this way in comparison with Latin and Greek? Do you study it in the same way? My fond wish is that Spanish and German will be much easier after tackling the classics for a while...

Kynetus Valesius
Textkit Fan

Post by Kynetus Valesius »

Hey friend,

I recommend the "Ultimate" language series. There is "Ultimate German" and "Ultimate Spanish". The approach is the traditional (sometimes boring) conversational one but you will learn to read, listen, and respond as well as acquire the basic grammar necessary for moving on to more advanced materials. I like these courses because they are systematically designed for self-learning and because of the emphasis placed on oral comprehension. They are available at the big books stores. The same approach has been implemented by many other vendors.

Good luck.

thesaurus
Textkit Zealot

Post by thesaurus »

Thanks, those books look interesting.