Salvete!

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
Sarah N.
Textkit Neophyte

Salvete!

Post by Sarah N. »

Hello all,

It says that this is the board for introductions, so, let me introduce myself. My name is Sarah and I am a college student from Minnesota. I am interested in Classical languages, and am currently sacrificing my life for this persuit, by taking third level Latin and first level Greek at the same time. :shock: I don't think I'll have much time to really become at home on this board, because I have noticed the tendency of internet forums to take over ones life, so I am only going to pop in on occasion to ask questions. (I'm scared of my Greek tutor. :P ) Besides obsessing over dead languages, I also like literature (notably C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and G.K. Chesterton) British comedy, and drinking tea.

Vale,

Sarah N.

Hu

Post by Hu »

Salve, Sarah! Why do you think taking Latin and Greek at the same time is so :shock:-worthy? They're very similar.

Anyway, do feel free to ask us if you need any help.

bellum paxque
Textkit Zealot

Post by bellum paxque »

Hi Sarah,

I'm also a big fan of C.S. Lewis, Tolkien, and I've even read a fair amount of Chesterton (only the Father Brown stories, to be honest, and maybe an essay or two).

Hope you have the finest time and the fairest fortunes as you learn Greek and improve your Latin.

(Even Shakespeare had "little Latine and lesse Greek")

Regards,

David

Deudeditus
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Deudeditus »

Salue, Sarah! Mae govannen

Tolkien is responsible for my interest in languages, really. The best of luck to thee, in thy quest for classicity.

-Jon

Fabiola
Textkit Member

Post by Fabiola »

Welcome, Sarah! We sound very similar (and indeed, we share the same name :))

This board is very friendly and helpful, I know you'll love it! :)

Sarah N.
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Sarah N. »