Why the Classics?

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
alauda
Textkit Neophyte

Why the Classics?

Post by alauda »

Forgive me if I'm a bit long winded, but I really can't see how I could eliminate one single word from the following without significantly altering my intent or meaning.

As an artist, I have some interest in staying abreast of the various new and old art theories to be found, and one day not too long ago, I decided that I would re-study Postmodernism but do so in greater depth, seeking the original writings of the main theorists rather than just read quotes as I had done.

But this post is NOT about postmodern art theory. Postmodern theoretical writing is more than a bit of a bore, and Postmodernism itself is artistically rather passé already. It's just that in the course of studying *that* I came across this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metanarrative

<quote>

A metanarrative can include any grand, all-encompassing story,
classic text, or archetypal account of the historical
record. They can also provide a framework upon which an
individual's own experiences and thoughts may be ordered. These
grand, all-encompassing stories are typically characterized by
some form of 'transcendent and universal truth' in addition to an
evolutionary tale of human existence (a story with a beginning,
middle and an end). The majority of metanarratives tend to be
relatively optimistic in their visions for humankind, some verge
on utopian, but different schools of thought offer very different
accounts. [edit]

Examples of metanarratives

* Many Christians believe that human existence is innately
sinful but offered redemption and eternal peace in heaven -
thus representing a belief in a universal rule and a telos
for humankind. See also Universal History.

* The Enlightenment theorists believed that rational thought,