Introducing myself

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
jpete
Textkit Neophyte

Introducing myself

Post by jpete »

Hello to all:

I am excited to find a group of people dedicated to helping each other learn the classic languages. I now know how the ugly duckling must've felt. I am a liberal arts graduate from Wichita State University. I originally majored in the classics but, as a returning adult student, I just didn't have the time to dedicate to learning Latin and Greek so instead I focused on more modern history. However, reading Seneca and Marcus Aurelius in English has kept the fire alive inside me for the Classics. Now that I have more free time I have decided to learn Latin and maybe Greek afterwards. I doubt I'll ever achieve my dream of earning a PhD in Classical Studies but I think knowledge is its own reward. I am most interested in reading more Stoic philosophy, in Latin, but I also want to read St. Jerome's Latin Vulgate Bible in its original form. Any ideas on where to buy books in Latin at a reasonable price would be greatly appreciated. I am not looking for collector quality, Accurate, readable, reproductions are totally acceptable. I hope this intro isn't too long. I apologize if I have violated any etiquette rules. I hope to be a regular contributor and helpfully be able to help others in the future.

bellum paxque
Textkit Zealot

Post by bellum paxque »

Hello, and welcome to textkit!

You can find a lot of useful help, hints, and information here, though I think we'd all like to know where to find inexpensive but still useful classical texts. At least, they're certainly difficult to find in the states, though you stand a better chance if you travel in England.