Introduction (of me)

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
nostos
Textkit Enthusiast

Introduction (of me)

Post by nostos »

salvete omnes! :D

I guess I'll introduce myself because that's supposed to be one of the functions of this board. Sorry if I get wordy and I don't normally talk so much (not about myself and hopefully not in general), but it is extremely refreshing to find a niche on the net with like-minded individuals, at least in this one aspect, in a world that increasingly doesn't care about Latin.

I've been studying Latin seriously for about 9 months. I study on my own, a possibility that became open to me after taking 1 semester of Latin with a very learned and very humble professor who speaks 6 languages and teaches most of them, among which is the lingua mater of my second tongue, Spanish.

I'm in Canada now but I've been living in Mexico for a good portion of my life; still I don't feel that I have enough mastery of Spanish to do any university work there, and so I've come back to my home and native land to finish my degree.

I've wanted to learn Latin since I was 15. At the time I checked books out of the library but found the language rather impossible. Now I'm writing a book of my own explaining all the implications behind what is assumed in most grammars that most people will understand. I don't, and I'm obsessive so I keep at it until I do. The end product is a (usually) syntactic analysis with pragmatic aims, but I'm not sure how close to that I've come. It does rely very heavily on Allen & Greenough and Gildersleeve & Lodge though, so it's not for print. But if you like me are just beginning, I'd be more than happy to help with all the intricacies of (capital G) Grammar, up to (so far) Wheelock's Ch. 30. I've also got a couple of good internet links which should help those introducing themselves to this venerable language.