Nikko Kirifuri

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
annis
Textkit Zealot

Nikko Kirifuri

Post by annis »

A new Japanese restaurant opened in my beloved Madison, WI, recently - Muramoto - and this evening I finally made it there with some friends (the band Null Device, and associated S.O.'s, all in one place preparing for a show tomorrow). The food is quite good, and not, unlike many restaurants in town these days, absurdly priced.

They are known for their sake, and rice wine is experiencing a bit of a fad in parts of the U.S right now. I felt it would be only polite to make sure I got to taste more than just one. I will not talk about the early samples, lovely though they were.

I will talk about Nikko Kirifuri. This is an unfiltered sake. These are cloudy, and from a distance look a bit like milk. I've seen these, though I've never tried one before. In general they are a bit sweeter, but I bothered the waitress for more info because I generally don't care for sweet wines, and I didn't think sweet sake would go over too well. When she mentioned the tartness of the Nikko Kirifuiri I knew what I would be trying. It's been very hot and humid in Madison lately, and cool and tart sounded good. So I ordered it.

This stuff isn't just unfiltered, it's a meal. There are bits of rice still floating in it, and it is thicker than most of us would expect from the word "wine." It has an amazing tartness (not overpowering), and a fruit aroma. It is the strangest, most wonderful sake I have ever had.

If the sake craze makes it to your part of the world, and you're not a teetotaler, find some place which will serve this. It's a bit more expensive than the lower end unfiltereds (I tried a lower end unfiltered a friend ordered - it's a barbaric smack in the face after the Nikko K.), but isn't the shock to the wallet many sake can be.