Reading on iPhone

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
aloimonon
Textkit Member

Reading on iPhone

Post by aloimonon »

Hello all,

I wonder if any of you who have iPhones have started to load their texts for reading on the go? Myself, I'm very new to the iPhone, and so far I use this for reading:

iFiles (NOT iFile)
http://www.ifilesapp.com/

Yes, it does cost $0.99, but it supports folders, PDFs, and a lot more (see website). I can read Smyth and many other of my texts with no real problems, but since they are graphically scanned PDFs, the usual restrictions apply (no search!).

I have two questions:
a) How are those with iPhones (or other devices) reading their classics on the go?
b) Concerning the iPhone, iFiles so far works great, but even though it can handle Smyth, it chokes on Kaegi (10-15 seconds rendering time per page!):
http://www.archive.org/details/shortgra ... l002689mbp
Does anyone have a solution for this? Of course, since Kaegi is a small book, I could carry it with me, but it would be nice to be able to read it electronically also. Graphically scanned PDFs are far from the holy grail, but so far, it's the best way through which I know to read free texts.

Any comments are welcome. Note that iFiles allows one to carry their PDF texts stored on the iPhone, and once transferred, no network is required. However, in order to transfer files from a computer to iFiles on the iPhone, wireless network is required, but most modern PCs and Macs have this already. This approach does NOT require jailbreaking the iPhone, and iFiles is a legitimate app from Apple's store.
ἀλλ' ἔγωγε ἐξ αὐτῶν τούτων μᾶλλον αὐτὸν τεθαύμακα, ὅτι ἔν τε ἀλλοκότοις καὶ ἐν ἐξαισίοις πράγμασι αὐτός τε διεγένετο καὶ τὴν ἀρχὴν διεσώσατο. Dio LXXII 36.3

edonnelly
Administrator

Re: Reading on iPhone

Post by edonnelly »