Trouble scanning a line in Plautus

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Post Reply
horus92
Textkit Neophyte
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:42 am

Trouble scanning a line in Plautus

Post by horus92 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:36 pm

This is line 312 of the Bacchides. It's meant to be Iambic Senarii.

quin in eapse aede Dianai conditum est

Right now I have

|? ? | S L | L S S | L L | L L | S L

Seems to be missing a couple of syllables or something.

Alatius
Textkit Fan
Posts: 278
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Upsalia, Suecia

Re: Trouble scanning a line in Plautus

Post by Alatius » Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:26 pm

Hm, does this work?

quīn in e|āps(e) ae|de Dī|ānā|ī con|ditum (e)st
L S S | L L | S L | L L | L L | S L

Lewis & Short note that the i in Diana sometimes is scanned long.

horus92
Textkit Neophyte
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:42 am

Re: Trouble scanning a line in Plautus

Post by horus92 » Sun Jul 14, 2013 12:24 pm

Ahh I did not realize that, yeah that works beautifully, thanks a lot!

Post Reply