First composition in Latin

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
Andrus
Textkit Member

First composition in Latin

Post by Andrus »

Hi all,

I have reached to a point in my Latin studies where just making the exercises and reading aren’t enough. I feel that to improve my Latin I need also to write. So here it is my first attempt. I feel like I’m back to first year of studies writing compositions about the day I had, or the beautiful park I went and so one. But as I don’t have great skills as a writer to try to imagine original stories this is what I have managed. So I’m sorry for the lack of substance in the text.

As I fear my Latin is, yet, very poor I did also write the English of what I wanted to say, so you can at least know what my Latin is trying to say.

Hodiē ante prīmam lūcem ego et uxorque mea excit?uimus. Vxor quae iter longum faciēt antequam s?lem ad caelum ascedere ex dom? discessit. Ego fīliam nostram excit?re opperīrī. Dēnique ubi ea excit?vit eam uestiuī et eae cibum par?uī. Stude? diēī ubi ea ipse cibum sē dare poterit. Tum fīliam ad lūdum carr? dūxī.

Today before dawn I and my wife waked up. My wife that will do a long travel (that had to make) leaved the house before the sun rise to the sky. I waited for our daughter to wake up. When she finally waked up I dressed her and prepared the food for her. I’m eager for the day when she can give herself the food (can eat by herself). Then I drove her to the school by car.

So how did I manage for the first Latin writing and where am I wrong?

Best regards,

Andrus

TADW_Elessar
Textkit Neophyte

Post by TADW_Elessar »

Lucus Eques
Textkit Zealot

Post by Lucus Eques »

"ex domo" is just fine, if less common; it's more emphatic.
L. Amādeus Rāniērius · Λ. Θεόφιλος Ῥᾱνιήριος 🦂

SCORPIO·MARTIANVS

Andrus
Textkit Member

Post by Andrus »

FiliusLunae
Textkit Member