Latin easy to learn?

Here you can discuss all things Latin. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Latin, and more.
beerclark
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Latin easy to learn?

Post by beerclark »

Lol.. I think that's more for you to answer yourself!

I am teaching myself and started not to long ago. My only previous experience with another language was French in High School. My skills have always leaned toward math/spacial and weak in english/language.

Keeping in mind I am VERY new to this, and my french epxerience is from over 20 years ago, I find latin much simpler then french. It could be personal motivation and a difference of 20 years! But if I had to guess what I thought the differences are for me in the languages. It would be that the sentence structure is much less important in latin. Maybe being able to focus on the words themselves instead of having to balance between words and sentence structure simplify the whole process for me.

Lex
Textkit Zealot

Post by Lex »

The biggest difference between a language like English and Latin is that Latin is highly inflected; i.e. words have many different forms.

In English, nouns have only what in Latin would be called nominative singular (dog), nominative plural (dogs), genitive singular (dog's) and genitive plural (dogs'). And three of those are pronounced the same! If you don't include helper words, regular verbs have, what, three forms (dance, danced, dancing)? Then there are irregular verbs (sing, sang, sung, singing), (be, am, is, are, was, were, being), and pronouns (I, me, my, mine) to add a little more complexity, but it's not so bad. Latin is much worse, with respect to number of forms of words (and Greek worse than that). It all depends on how how you deal with learning all these forms.