Companion Text book W/BBG?

Are you learning Koine Greek, the Greek of the New Testament and most other post-classical Greek texts? Whatever your level, use this forum to discuss all things Koine, Biblical or otherwise, including grammar, textbook talk, difficult passages, and more.
Duane Jones
Textkit Neophyte

Companion Text book W/BBG?

Post by Duane Jones »

I am new to Greek and am currently using Mounce/BBG. I have read on this forum that BBG does not cover all that I need in learning Greek. So I am wondering if anybody has any suggestions for a good beginners textbook that would go perfectly and give me what I am missing with BBG. (Remember I am new to Greek) and also need a basic English guide as it relates to Greek.

Thank You in advance!
Duane

Markos
Textkit Zealot

Re: Companion Text book W/BBG?

Post by Markos »

The main thing you are missing in Mounce is English to Greek exercises. Accordingly, I would get Machen, New Testament Greek for Beginners.
οὐ μανθάνω γράφειν, ἀλλὰ γράφω τοῦ μαθεῖν.

Duane Jones
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Duane Jones »

Markos ~
Thank You!

jswilkmd
Textkit Neophyte

Post by jswilkmd »

One thing I found exceptionally helpful was the Greek Tutor multimedia CD-ROM for the computer, published by Parson's Technology. It's an excellent companion to Mounce.

refe
Textkit Neophyte

Post by refe »

Missing English-Greek exercises along with much of the information you would need to complete such exercises!