Γ25 - LSJ "εἴπερ" error?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Γ25 - LSJ "εἴπερ" error?

Post by jeidsath »

Γ21 τὸν δ’ ὡς οὖν ἐνόησεν ἀρηΐφιλος Μενέλαος
Γ22 ἐρχόμενον προπάροιθεν ὁμίλου μακρὰ βιβάντα,
Γ23 ὥς τε λέων ἐχάρη μεγάλῳ ἐπὶ σώματι κύρσας
Γ24 εὑρὼν ἢ ἔλαφον κεραὸν ἢ ἄγριον αἶγα
Γ25 πεινάων· μάλα γάρ τε κατεσθίει, εἴ περ ἂν αὐτὸν
Γ26 σεύωνται ταχέες τε κύνες θαλεροί τ’ αἰζηοί·
Τhe LSJ has "if really, if indeed, Il.3.25, etc.". However, this usage would seem to go much better with the next definition "esp. even if, even though, Il.7.117, Od.1.167, etc.;" And Leaf's note is "εἴ περ ἄν, even if, B 597". The Supplement updates the entry for εἴπερ, but doesn't correct this. Is it an error, or am I missing something?
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Constantinus Philo
Textkit Zealot

Re: Γ25 - LSJ "εἴπερ" error?

Post by Constantinus Philo »

By the way, is Leaf's the best commentary on Il.? and what about Merry's commentary on Od., how good?
Semper Fidelis

seanjonesbw
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by seanjonesbw »

Constantinus Philo wrote: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:37 am Merry's commentary on Od., how good?
I can only comment from my own limited experience, but the comparison below of Merry & Riddell and the Oxford commentary from Heubeck, West & Hainsworth (1988) for a short passage from Book 6 should give you a good idea of the difference. Merry is much more exegetical and tends to quote and interpret from the scholia a lot, sometimes without attribution e.g. the discussion of the prepositions in ὑπεκπρορέει - we had a discussion about the scholia relating to this word last week in the Odyssey reading group.