TLGMarathon: Hesiod, resources

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Redhead
Textkit Neophyte

TLGMarathon: Hesiod, resources

Post by Redhead »

Χαίρετε! Since I have just now finished the Iliad and will begin The Odyssey tomorrow, I thought I might as well post the topic on Hesiod in the meantime. See the first post of TLGMarathon for background. Of course I haven't yet acquired any of the items below but I have gone through L’Année phil. and looked for anything that could be of value. If anyone has any comments or preferences I would be very happy to hear your opinion on what is most useful and what might be skipped.

Commentary, text and translation

Mixed:
Theogony : and, Works and days / Hesiod ; translated with an introduction and notes by M.L. West; Oxford 1988
Hesiod I Theogony ; Works and days ; Testimonia / edited and translated by Glenn W. Most; Cambridge 2018
Hesiodi Theogonia : Opera et dies ; Scutum / edidit Friedrich Solmsen ; Fragmenta selecta / ediderunt R. Merkelbach et M.L. West; Oxford, 1990
Theogony ; and Works and days / Hesiod ; transl. and with introd. by Catherine McKee Schlegel and Henry Weinfield; Michigan, 2006
Works of Hesiod and the Homeric hymns / transl. by Daryl Hine; Chicago, 2005
Theogony ; Works and days ; Shield / Hesiod ; transl., introd., and notes by Apostolos Athanassakis [2nd ed.]; Baltimore 2004
Hesiod's Works and days: a translation and commentary for the social sciences / by David W. Tandy and Walter C. Neale; Berkeley, 1996
Works and days ; and Theogony / Hesiod ; transl. by Stanley Lombardo ; with introd., notes and glossary by Robert Lamberton; Indianapolis, 1993
The poems of Hesiod / transl. with introd. & comm. by Frazer R. M. ;illustr. by Roniger M. S.; Norman, 1983