Iliad B353

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Iliad B353

Post by jeidsath »

Β350 φημὶ γὰρ οὖν κατανεῦσαι ὑπερμενέα Κρονίωνα
Β351 ἤματι τῷ ὅτε νηυσὶν ἐν ὠκυπόροισιν ἔβαινον
Β352 Ἀργεῖοι Τρώεσσι φόνον καὶ κῆρα φέροντες
Β353 ἀστράπτων ἐπιδέξι’ ἐναίσιμα σήματα φαίνων.

Kirk calls 353 "an easy ad sensum lapse", though we should have the accusative to match 350 (so Aristarchus in the scholia). Monro calls it "a kind of exclamation." I'm not sure that the lapse would be that easy, and it doesn't exactly look like an exclamation to me.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Aetos
Textkit Zealot

Re: Iliad B353

Post by Aetos »

Checking the notes in my Leaf & Bayfield, they mention that ἀστράπτων "should strictly be accusative, but the anacoluthon is natural".
In Smyth:
3006. Anacoluthon usually produces the effect of naturalness and liveliness, sometimes of greater clearness (as after long parentheses), or of brevity, force, or concentration.

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Post by Hylander »

Call it a lapse, call it an anacoluthon, call it a metrical fudge, it's all the same. The two intervening lines make the audience/reader and possibly the poet too forget that syntactically the two participles should be unmetrical accusatives. It would not be the only departure from strict syntax in the Homeric poems.