Mimnermus Fr. 1

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Mimnermus Fr. 1

Post by jeidsath »

τίς δὲ βίος, τί δὲ τερπνὸν ἄτερ χρυσῆς Ἀφροδίτης; τεθναίην, ὅτε μοι μηκέτι ταῦτα μέλοι, κρυπταδίη φιλότης καὶ μείλιχα δῶρα καὶ εὐνή, οἷ’ ἥβης ἄνθεα γίνεται ἁρπαλέα ἀνδράσιν ἠδὲ γυναιξίν· ἐπεὶ δ’ ὀδυνηρὸν ἐπέλθηι (5) γῆρας, ὅ τ’ αἰσχρὸν ὁμῶς καὶ κακὸν ἄνδρα τιθεῖ, αἰεί μιν φρένας ἀμφὶ κακαὶ τείρουσι μέριμναι, οὐδ’ αὐγὰς προσορῶν τέρπεται ἠελίου, ἀλλ’ ἐχθρὸς μὲν παισίν, ἀτίμαστος δὲ γυναιξίν· οὕτως ἀργαλέον γῆρας ἔθηκε θεός. (10)
But what is life, what is pleasure, apart from golden Aphrodite? Would that I die, when these things no longer interest me. The secret relationship and the wooing-gifts and the bed, which are youth's blossoms to be grasped by men and women. But after painful age comes upon, which (epic habitual τε?) makes a man entirely ugly and bad, evil cares are always vexing him in both phrenes/lungs, nor does he delight facing the rays of the sun, but he is an enemy to men and shown no honor by women. Thus did god decree grievous old age.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Hylander
Textkit Zealot

Re: Mimnermus Fr. 1

Post by Hylander »

τίς δὲ βίος -- "what life is there?'" "What is life would be τί δὲ βίος. Similarly, τί δὲ τερπνὸν must be "what joy is there?"

ἄτερ -- why not just "without"?

κρυπταδίη φιλότης -- "secret sex". A Homeric/epic euphemism, but barely so.

μείλιχα δῶρα -- "wooing gifts" seems too euphemistic; maybe "seductive gifts"? μείλιχα by itself means something like "gentle".