bT sch. on E.166

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
dikaiopolis
Textkit Member

bT sch. on E.166

Post by dikaiopolis »

Dear Homerists: I have a somewhat trifling question on another Iliadic scholion. As Diomedes works havoc among the Trojan ranks during his aristeia, Aeneas goes to find Pandarus (E.166ff.), now rather gloomy (esp. E.212-16) after realizing that he’s failed at the bow yet again. He initially responds to Aeneas with his lengthy, despondent speech about how he left his chariots at home. An exegetical sch. on Ε.166 reads:

(166a)   τὸν δ’ ἴδεν Αἰνείας: τὸ ὁμοειδές τε ἐκκλίνει καὶ πρόθυμον 
Πάνδαρον ποιεῖ ἀθυμοῦντα ἐπὶ Διομήδει. b(BCE3)T

(E.166-70: Τὸν δ᾽ ἴδεν Αἰνείας ἀλαπάζοντα στίχας ἀνδρῶν,
βῆ δ᾽ ἴμεν ἄν τε μάχην καὶ ἀνὰ κλόνον ἐγχειάων
Πάνδαρον ἀντίθεον διζήμενος εἴ που ἐφεύροι·
εὗρε Λυκάονος υἱὸν ἀμύμονά τε κρατερόν τε,
στῆ δὲ πρόσθ᾽ αὐτοῖο ἔπος τέ μιν ἀντίον ηὔδα·)

I read this as saying that the poet has diverted from the corresponding Pandarus scenes (where he’s consistently shown as eager for glory, boastful, and money-loving according to the commentators) and instead now makes him despondent because of Diomedes. Nünlist, however, says that this scholion indicates that “now Pandarus is energetic and Diomedes despondent.” This is just a mistake, right? Or am I missing something obvious?

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: bT sch. on E.166

Post by mwh »

I haven’t checked but yes it looks like just a slip.