Anyone interested in a Greek reading group for the Odyssey

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
chicxulub
Textkit Neophyte

Anyone interested in a Greek reading group for the Odyssey

Post by chicxulub »

I haven't been able to find an active one yet. Just getting started again after a loooong hiatus...anyone want to join me?

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Anyone interested in a Greek reading group for the Odyss

Post by Paul Derouda »

Hello and welcome! Whether someone joins your group or not – if you start reading the Odyssey and just post any questions here, I'm sure you'll get answers and help. I for one have already read the Odyssey a couple of times, so I won't be joining the group, but I'd be happy to help, and there are others here who are much more knowledgeable in Greek than I am.

Adelheid
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Adelheid »

The last group I joined here was a long time ago, 8 years or so? I have been busy with Modern Greek since, but a reading group for the Odyssey I would love to join.
Regards,
Adelheid
http://www.perispomenon.nl

Altair
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Altair »

I might be interested in a reading group, depending on how it is structured. What are you thinking about?

Adelheid
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Adelheid »

I am going to read book 5 starting this thursday. I have no structure. I loved the group reading book 1 of the Iliad, many years ago, but I don’t expect a structured learning environment like that will be available now. We could simply use this thread, I think.

I will go slowly, but surely. Anyone else in for the ride?
Regards,
Adelheid
http://www.perispomenon.nl

gregf
Textkit Neophyte

Post by gregf »