The grave accent in Homeric and Classical Greek

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

The grave accent in Homeric and Classical Greek

Post by jeidsath »

I have been playing around with West's The Singing of Homer and the Modes of Early Greek Music. Transposing the notes (which are only relative, not absolute), I turned my guitar into a tetrachord harp with open strings 1-3 and a capo F# on the 4th. This is the reverse string order of the harp West describes, where the thumb strikes the high notes, but that can't be fixed on the guitar. I've also been following Stefan Hagel's modifications in Homer-Singen, Wiener Humanistische Blätter (1995), 5-20., trying to learn out how to improvise the melody as I recite/sing.

All this led me to a careful look at something that West had to say about the grave accent:
Oxytone words, be it noted, did not at this period (or indeed in the classical period) lose their acute within the phrase.

Footnote: See Gnomon xlviii (1976) 5.
The reference is to West's Review of Allen's Accent and Rhythm. On page 5:
And in classical Greek, indeed down to the beginning of our era, the evidence indicates that oxytone words retained their accent within the sentence as well as at the end of it.

Footnote: Plato Crat. 399ab; Demetrius Byz. ap. Philod. de poem. (JbPhil Suppl. 17, 1889, 247 fr. 18); Dion Hal. comp. 63; and the musical inscriptions.
Here is Cratylus from Perseus:
πρῶτον μὲν γὰρ τὸ τοιόνδε δεῖ ἐννοῆσαι περὶ ὀνομάτων, ὅτι πολλάκις ἐπεμβάλλομεν γράμματα, τὰ δ’ ἐξαιροῦμεν, παρ’ ὃ βουλόμεθα ὀνομάζοντες, καὶ τὰς ὀξύτητας μεταβάλλομεν. οἷον “Διὶ φίλος” —τοῦτο ἵνα ἀντὶ ῥήματος ὄνομα ἡμῖν γένηται, τό τε ἕτερον αὐτόθεν ἰῶτα ἐξείλομεν καὶ ἀντὶ ὀξείας τῆς μέσης συλλαβῆς βαρεῖαν ἐφθεγξάμεθα. ἄλλων δὲ τοὐναντίον ἐμβάλλομεν γράμματα, τὰ δὲ βαρύτερα <ὀξύτερα> φθεγγόμεθα.