A New Companion to Homer

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

A New Companion to Homer

Post by jeidsath »

I just got my copy of A New Companion to Homer. All of the articles in it seem exciting. Is anyone familiar with it? Do you have any favorite essays?
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Re: A New Companion to Homer

Post by jeidsath »

Barry B. Powell, "Homer and Writing": The suggestion that the Nestor's Cup inscription refers to the story from the Iliad is not believable to me.

Νέστορος [....] εὔποτ[ον] ποτήριο[ν]·
ὃς δ’ ἂν τοῦδε π[ίησι] ποτηρί[ου] αὐτίκα κῆνον
ἵμερ[ος αἱρ]ήσει καλλιστ[εφάν]ου Ἀφροδίτης.

That the third line is a reference to certain rather well-known effects of alcohol, and not to Powell's wild interpretation, seems obvious enough to me

That aside, Powell's argument -- that the Phoenician script was adapted into a real phonographic script, including vowels, for Greek with the original intention of transcribing poetry -- is oddly compelling.
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Timothée
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Timothée »