Recovering melodies from ancient Greek documents

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Recovering melodies from ancient Greek documents

Post by jeidsath »

I have been considering a statistical project over the last few days, and I hoped to get some input on it.

My guess is that if an original melody line existed for any document of sufficient length, and it had some effect on words selected (according to their accentuation), it becomes a reasonably straightforward machine learning problem to recover some aspects of the original melody. In fact, if you assume that the likelihood of accent correspondence increases with the magnitude of the tonal difference, you may be able to recover something close to an actual melody line.

The main difficulties would be:

1) Find documents of sufficient length that are composed against a particular melody.
2) Discovering the number of versus before melodic repeat.

The Iliad and Odyssey would be ideal, due to length and a simple meter with no questions about responsion. However, I don't know if they were originally composed against a melody (or more likely a set of melodies), regardless of whether they were performed with or without melody at a later point.

Thoughts about good texts to attempt this against? Has anybody taken steps in this direction in the past?
“One might get one’s Greek from the very lips of Homer and Plato." "In which case they would certainly plough you for the Little-go. The German scholars have improved Greek so much.”

Joel Eidsath -- jeidsath@gmail.com

Markos
Textkit Zealot

Re: Recovering melodies ancient Greek documents

Post by Markos »

jeidsath wrote:Thoughts about good texts to attempt this against?
1 Tim 3:16: