Demodocus and imperfects

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Demodocus and imperfects

Post by Paul Derouda »

A brief interlude from Sophocles' Ajax, my main reading project for now...

The Muse has robbed the bard Demodocus of his sight, but has given him the gift of song.

Od. 8.62 ff.
κῆρυξ δ' ἐγγύθεν ἦλθεν ἄγων ἐρίηρον ἀοιδόν,
τὸν πέρι Μοῦσ' ἐφίλησε, δίδου δ' ἀγαθόν τε κακόν τε:
ὀφθαλμῶν μὲν ἄμερσε, δίδου δ' ἡδεῖαν ἀοιδήν.

The repeated imperfect δίδου surprises beside the aorists ἐφίλησε and ἄμερσε. The commentaries I have (Hainsworth, Merry-Riddell, Ameis-Hentze, Stanford, Garvie) are all silent, equally surprisingly. The aorist ἄμερσε is easy to understand, as blinding someone is a single event, and ἐφίλησε is like English "fell in love", except in a Platonic sense without any erotic element... But the only way I can explain the imperfect δίδου is that it means almost "kept giving" and expresses the continuous favor the Muse grants to Demodocus every time he performs. No translation I cared to check interprets it this way though, but simply "gave" or the like.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: Demodocus and imperfects

Post by mwh »

Yes I think it's because the gift continues. He was still blind, and he could still sing sweetly. So in a sense she was still giving.

PS. The urban dictionary has an entry for “the gift that keeps on giving,” a much used slogan in advertising. It lists syphilis, AIDS, gonorrhea, and other STDs.

jeidsath
Textkit Zealot

Post by jeidsath »

It is aorist in the opposite usage at Iliad 2.599-600

αἳ δὲ χολωσάμεναι πηρὸν θέσαν, αὐτὰρ ἀοιδὴν
θεσπεσίην ἀφέλοντο καὶ ἐκλέλαθον κιθαριστύν·

Here it seems to be conceived as a gift to be taken away, or an art that one can (be made to) forget.