Iliad 1.395-407

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
strnbrg
Textkit Neophyte

Iliad 1.395-407

Post by strnbrg »

Could someone explain the background to what's going on here? I've read it in Greek, I've read it in English: I understand the words fine but I'm still confused about the backstory. Pharr, like Achilles, seems to just assume we already know!

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Re: Iliad 1.395-407

Post by Paul Derouda »

πολλάκι γάρ σεο πατρὸς ἐνὶ μεγάροισιν ἄκουσα
εὐχομένης ὅτ᾽ ἔφησθα κελαινεφέϊ Κρονίωνι
οἴη ἐν ἀθανάτοισιν ἀεικέα λοιγὸν ἀμῦναι,
ὁππότε μιν ξυνδῆσαι Ὀλύμπιοι ἤθελον ἄλλοι
400Ἥρη τ᾽ ἠδὲ Ποσειδάων καὶ Παλλὰς Ἀθήνη:
ἀλλὰ σὺ τόν γ᾽ ἐλθοῦσα θεὰ ὑπελύσαο δεσμῶν,
ὦχ᾽ ἑκατόγχειρον καλέσασ᾽ ἐς μακρὸν Ὄλυμπον,
ὃν Βριάρεων καλέουσι θεοί, ἄνδρες δέ τε πάντες
Αἰγαίων᾽, ὃ γὰρ αὖτε βίην οὗ πατρὸς ἀμείνων:
405ὅς ῥα παρὰ Κρονίωνι καθέζετο κύδεϊ γαίων:
τὸν καὶ ὑπέδεισαν μάκαρες θεοὶ οὐδ᾽ ἔτ᾽ ἔδησαν.
τῶν νῦν μιν μνήσασα παρέζεο καὶ λαβὲ γούνων

I suspect Homer made it up here, I don't think the background story had any existence before it got here. The story requires that Zeus should owe one to Thetis, so Thetis can get what she (and Achilles) wants.

Supposedly Hera, Poseidon and, strangest of all, Athena wanted have Zeus in bonds. (Why would Athena want to do that, Zeus' favorite?) Thetis decided to rescue him by bringing the hundred-handed giant Briareon/Aigaion, who frightened the other gods to abandon their plan.

A Briareos can also be found in Hesiod, but I don't think the story there is similar to this one. He's stronger than his father, but who is that father? It might be Poseidon, who has a habit of fathering monsters (e.g. the Cyclops in the Odyssey).

seneca2008
Textkit Zealot

Post by seneca2008 »

Here is what Kirk says: