Phaeacian dance

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Phaeacian dance

Post by Paul Derouda »

I'm wondering about the Phaeacian duo dance with a ball at 8.372 ff., especially ποτὶ χθονὶ πουλυβοτείρῃ at 378. All in all, Garvie's commentary gives a good overview, but I have a hard time figuring out a few points.

The dancers first take turn in bending themselves backwards (ἰδνωθεὶς ὀπίσω) and then throwing the ball high in the air, with the other dancer always catching the ball by jumping. (But I wonder if ἰδνωθεὶς ὀπίσω actually means something like performing a back walkover. I suspect that no, something less impressive is meant). ἀν᾽ ἰθὺν seems to mean "straight up", though how exactly this is constructed is a bit unclear to me--but that doesn't really bother me, because it seems to be a notorious crux (Garvie considers ἰθὺν an adjective, Hainsworth a substantive), and the meaning seems clear.

In the second part of the dance, they are no longer jumping in the air but dancing low on the ground, apparently still with a ball, throwing it quickly from one to the other (ἀμειβομένω). I'm wondering if ποτὶ χθονὶ πουλυβοτείρῃ just simply means that they are no longer jumping in the air, or whether it's something more remarkable. Specifically, I wonder if they are performing a sort of Russian squat dance, i.e. as close to the ground as possible (in opposition, in a way, to ποτὶ νέφεα σκιόεντα a few lines earlier in the first dance). (The sort of dance as at 0:58 in https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qiiuN9eAy9Y. Just imagine a ball in addition!)

οἱ δ᾽ ἐπεὶ οὖν σφαῖραν καλὴν μετὰ χερσὶν ἕλοντο,
πορφυρέην, τήν σφιν Πόλυβος ποίησε δαΐφρων,
τὴν ἕτερος ῥίπτασκε ποτὶ νέφεα σκιόεντα
ἰδνωθεὶς ὀπίσω, ὁ δ᾽ ἀπὸ χθονὸς ὑψόσ᾽ ἀερθεὶς
ῥηιδίως μεθέλεσκε, πάρος ποσὶν οὖδας ἱκέσθαι.