Why do some editors not write allative -δε as a suffix?

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
brometheus
Textkit Neophyte

Why do some editors not write allative -δε as a suffix?

Post by brometheus »

I'm reading through the Iliad, and Perseus (along with several other sources I've found) consistently has it as a separate word from the noun, e.g. what is πεδίονδε 'onto the plain' in Il. VI.393 (Munro & Allen) is given as πεδίον δέ in Perseus.

When you click this δέ in Perseus, it refers you to the postpositive 'but' word (as in, μέν and δέ), which it is decidedly not.

This separate writing is also found in the maybe earlier Munro & Allen edition I found on this site: http://www.mikrosapoplous.gr/en/texts1en.htm

In more fossilized words, Perseus doesn't separate it, e.g. χαμᾶζε (<χαμᾶσ-δε) 'to the ground,' or οἴκαδε 'homeward'; but, the LSJ entry for οἶκόνδε 'homeward' says "better οἶκον δέ," which boggles my mind.

As far as I can tell here, allative -δε is neither an enclitic particle (=οἶκόν δε) nor a postposition (=οἶκον δέ) but actually just a suffix (like any case ending), though not super-productive, that creates directional (allative) adverbs; therefore I'd assume οἴκονδε makes the most sense. Yet, in Il. I.606, for Perseus' οἶκον δέ, my Munro & Allen has οἶκόνδε.

What's the story here? Why am I seeing such discord between editions here? And what actually is -δε, grammatically, from the perspective of the poet?

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: Why do some editors not write allative -δε as a suffix?

Post by mwh »