ἁνδάνω

Are you reading Homeric Greek? Whether you are a total beginner or an advanced Homerist, here you can meet kindred spirits. Besides Homer, use this board for all things early Greek poetry.
Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

ἁνδάνω

Post by Bart »

Question on morphology: εὔαδε is the second aorist of ἁνδάνω. Why dit it lose its spiritus asper? My dictionnary tells me εὔαδε is derived from ἔσϝαδε. ἁνδάνω apparently has ϝανδ as stem. Does the loss of the diggamma has anything to do with this (though I can't figure out how)?

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Re: ἁνδάνω

Post by mwh »

What makes you think it lost its spiritus asper?

Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Bart »

Right, of course. So is εὐ the form the augment can take before a ϝ?

NB: I'm finally able to type the ϝ on my i-pad!

Paul Derouda
Global Moderator

Post by Paul Derouda »

mwh's point is, as I understand it, that the υ in εὐ id derived from ϝ and that aspiration didn't disappear word-internally, only it isn't written. So εὔαδε would represent εὔhαδε (or εὔἁδε, if you prefer).

I think the ν in ϝανδ isn't part of the stem, it's there only in the present tense (like in μανθάνω, λανθάνω etc.). The stem would rather be *σϝαδ or something like that.

Bart
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Bart »

Thanks Paul, for this exegesis of mwh's laconic dictum :)
Yes, I understood more or less the same. I liked mwh's reply btw, because it made me take a second look at the verb and reformulate my question.
Thanks as always.

mwh
Textkit Zealot

Post by mwh »