Athenaze

Here you can discuss all things Ancient Greek. Use this board to ask questions about grammar, discuss learning strategies, get help with a difficult passage of Greek, and more.
klewlis
Global Moderator

Athenaze

Post by klewlis » Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:58 pm

apparently the first year greek classes here use Athenaze... so I was thinking of picking it up and using it to brush up on my greek and to become accustomed to classical (since my background is in koine). Anyway, I see online that there are two volumes plus workbooks. Are both volumes for first year greek, or is volume 2 for second year? And do I need the workbooks or are they superfluous? It's $47 for just ONE book! yikes...

is the focus mainly on reading, or is there also a fair amount of grammar instruction? I ask because if it is mostly reading, I might as well start with the second book and supplement it with Smyth... would that work? Or should I start with the first book anyway?

Chris Weimer
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Chris Weimer » Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:13 pm

It's a fair mix of reading and grammar, most schools, from what I can tell, use only Book 1 for the first year and Book 2 for the second year. I don't know anything about the workbooks at all, sorry.

jk0592
Textkit Member

Post by jk0592 » Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:37 am

I have used Athenaze in autodidact mode. I do not know at what pace college/universities go. Basically, the first volume covers 1st, 2nd and third declensions nouns and adjectives. Verbs present, aorist, imperfect, present participles, both active and middle voices. Very few -mi irregular verbs. The vocab/grammar increases with the chapters.

Athenaze use an ongoing story about the adventures/misadventures of a farmer and his family. There are excerpts (simplified) from Herodotus,and other books. Also, there are general discussions about greek society, in English.