Search found 712 matches

by vir litterarum
Fri Dec 09, 2005 1:42 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: In Defence of Harry Potter
Replies: 30
Views: 8322

She is continuing in the tradition of Carroll, Lewis, and for an older audience Tolkein. This is perhaps one of the most erroneous statements I have ever seen in my entire life. C.S. Lewis was a Christian, and the he used magic in his novels to represent Christian themes. What does the magic in Har...
by vir litterarum
Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:35 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: In Defence of Harry Potter
Replies: 30
Views: 8322

It was not a serious or deep book, but so what. It was fun Not a "classic," perhaps,* but solid entertainment I find that it is not even necessary for me to criticize the books; the people supporting them do it quite adequately. The problem with parents today is objectified in the Harry Potter serie...
by vir litterarum
Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:25 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Magic! A question for those outside Western Europe
Replies: 27
Views: 9150

The only problem is the myriad of other preferable material children could learn such mythological references from. Nathaniel Hawthorne, unarguably and infinitely greater writer than Rowling, translated Greek myths into an English format for children. These stories would be much more thorough and en...
by vir litterarum
Sun Dec 04, 2005 7:01 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Latin Translation
Replies: 5
Views: 1715

Musica animum meum creat
by vir litterarum
Thu Nov 24, 2005 1:43 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Perfect Active Participle
Replies: 7
Views: 2130

the perfect participle is active if the verb is deponent, so not every perfect participle is passive.
by vir litterarum
Wed Nov 23, 2005 5:43 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Magic! A question for those outside Western Europe
Replies: 27
Views: 9150

I understand what you mean by the usage of Latin in cantations. Though I personally have not read the books, the Harry Potter series is merely a more salient example of the same tendency. I have heard that the children at the school for wizards perform their spells by speaking in Latin. For instance...
by vir litterarum
Wed Nov 23, 2005 5:33 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Usage of implied indirect discourse in the Aeneid.
Replies: 1
Views: 723

Usage of implied indirect discourse in the Aeneid.

In Liber III of the Aeneid, following usage of implied indirect discourse occurs: "...Huic me, quaecumque fuisset ,/ addixi" (Aen. 3.652). In one of the footnotes on the page, it states that the subjunctive is used because of implied indirect discourse. I understand that subordinate clauses within i...
by vir litterarum
Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:23 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Scanning Latin verse
Replies: 2
Views: 1101

No vowel is considered long because two consonants follow it. The syllable is considered long; hence, if you had a word ending in es and the next word began with t, the e would not be pronounced as if it were long but would still be pronounced as a shor vowel. The only change is that when you scan t...
by vir litterarum
Sat Nov 19, 2005 3:43 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Virgil or Vergil
Replies: 18
Views: 9085

The tradition has been in anglicizing classical personages names into English to either leave the name unaltered or to merely remove the inflective case ending. For example, Suetonius and Tacitus are not changed, but Christ comes from Christus which is derived from the Greek christos; Priam is deriv...
by vir litterarum
Fri Nov 18, 2005 1:17 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Virgil or Vergil
Replies: 18
Views: 9085

Everyone is choosing to append an erroneous connotation to Vergil's name when they choose to spell it Virgil. People have only spelled it "Virgil" for two primary reasons: either they merely conform to the traditional convolution of the original unwittingly, or, like those in the Middle Ages, they b...
by vir litterarum
Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:29 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: futurum in praeterito
Replies: 7
Views: 2109

I was looking at conditions in Allen and Greenough's grammar and I was confused by this excerpt. The futurum in praeterito is a tense future relatively to a time absolutely past. It denotes a future act transferred to the point of view of past time, and hence is naturally expressed by a past tense o...
by vir litterarum
Wed Nov 16, 2005 3:23 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: futurum in praeterito
Replies: 7
Views: 2109

What I do not understand is how a perfect such as demonstravit can be conceived as being further back in time than the pluperfect fecissent. Isn't pluperfect by nature a tense which expresses an action which happened before another action in the past. I don't see how fecissent can express future act...
by vir litterarum
Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:43 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Virgil or Vergil
Replies: 18
Views: 9085

Vergil is definitely more accurate. People in the Middle Ages ascribed a magical characteristic to Vergil's work and hence changed his name to Virgil after the Latin word for magic wand (virga). Most actual Latin texts will print his name using the e. See Pharr's text of the Aeneid.
by vir litterarum
Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:43 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Virgil or Vergil
Replies: 18
Views: 9085

Vergil is definitely more accurate. People in the Middle Ages ascribed a magical characteristic to Vergil's work and hence changed his name to Virgil after the Latin word for magic wand (virga). Most actual Latin texts will print his name using the e. See Pharr's text of the Aeneid.
by vir litterarum
Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:39 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: futurum in praeterito
Replies: 7
Views: 2109

futurum in praeterito

could someone explain to me how the pluperfect subjunctive becomes a future tense?
by vir litterarum
Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:45 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Important translation confirmation needed.
Replies: 2
Views: 1005

Who wrote this?
by vir litterarum
Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:25 pm
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Looking for opinions on Children's Latin programs
Replies: 13
Views: 3138

Wheelock's is best because it introduces ancient sources as you read, but the Ecce Romani series may be what you are looking for. It tells the story of a senator venturing to Rome and their experiences on the way. The grammar is thorough and presented in an understandable fashion.
by vir litterarum
Sat Nov 05, 2005 5:15 pm
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Where to buy books in orginal Latin?
Replies: 2
Views: 903

Biblio.com is another good site for rare books. Amazon, though, has most of the classical latin texts I have wanted. I have bought The Metamorphoses, Aeneid (they have Books I-VI or VII-XII in Latin), Catullus' Carmina, and Horace's Epistles. It is difficult to find complete texts instead of just ex...
by vir litterarum
Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:08 am
Forum: Learning Greek
Topic: Greek grammar texts
Replies: 15
Views: 5991

I am planning to major in Classics when I graduate from high school. I already have extensive experience in Latin, but I also am going to study Greek. I want a text which will allow me to begin to understand the language and its forms so that I will already have a firm foundation in the language whe...
by vir litterarum
Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:14 am
Forum: Learning Greek
Topic: Greek grammar texts
Replies: 15
Views: 5991

Greek grammar texts

If I were to begin learning Greek, what grammar text should I purchase to teach myself with?
by vir litterarum
Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:07 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Translation to latin
Replies: 12
Views: 2953

1) I am opening the book and i am reading story to boys. Librum aperio et fabulam puero legio. 2) Fields and gardens are dedicated to Faunus, acre to goddess of agriculture. Campi et horti Fauno sacros sunt, agri deae agriculturae. 3) Miserable boys and girls, why are you opening doors of Troy? O mi...
by vir litterarum
Thu Oct 20, 2005 2:07 am
Forum: Learning Latin
Topic: Vulgate
Replies: 2
Views: 963

Vulgate

In Matt. 6:12, part of the Lord's Prayer, the Vulgate reads, "et dimitte nobis debita nostra sicut et nos dimisimus debitoribus nostris." I am wondering why "debitoribus nostris" is in the dative plural. I think it could be a form of the dative of reference, but I am not sure because I thought that ...
by vir litterarum
Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:28 pm
Forum: Open Board
Topic: vocabulary size of classical Latin and Attic Greek
Replies: 16
Views: 32449

vocabulary size of classical Latin and Attic Greek

Does anyone know the approximate number of words in classical Latin and Attic Greek?
by vir litterarum
Thu Oct 06, 2005 12:37 am
Forum: Learning Greek
Topic: Contonation
Replies: 5
Views: 2097

so are you saying that it is not a rule in Latin that you must have a minimum of one mora after contonation?
by vir litterarum
Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:07 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Which Universities have the best Latin literature programs?
Replies: 0
Views: 547

Which Universities have the best Latin literature programs?

Does anyone know which universities have the best undergraduate Latin literature programs. I have looked at Tufts and that is probably my preferred choice so far with St. Louis University being my alternate, but I have not investigated very much.
by vir litterarum
Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:21 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Who is the greater warrior, Achilles or Ajax?
Replies: 13
Views: 8473

I remember that quotation from book II, but it does not address the comments of Idomeneus in book 13.320-325.
by vir litterarum
Sat Oct 01, 2005 3:34 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Latin Literature
Replies: 2
Views: 914

Latin Literature

Does anyone know of a site online from which I can purchase Calvin's Institutio Christianae Religionis . I have searched everywhere and cannot seem to find it. I was also wondering whether anyone knew of some mail order or online catalogs in which Latin literature is available which is not abridged ...
by vir litterarum
Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:09 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Who is the greater warrior, Achilles or Ajax?
Replies: 13
Views: 8473

So who do you believe would win in hand-to-hand combat?
by vir litterarum
Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:01 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Who is the greater warrior, Achilles or Ajax?
Replies: 13
Views: 8473

Who is the greater warrior, Achilles or Ajax?

I understand the seeming absurdity of the question. Throughout the Iliad, Homer constantly refers to Achilles as the superior warrior, but there is a place in Book 13 where It seems to me that he is saying Ajax is greater. In Book 13.320-325 of the Greek text and 13.375-379 of Fagle's translation, I...
by vir litterarum
Sun Sep 25, 2005 11:21 pm
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Which Aeneid is accurate?
Replies: 2
Views: 910

In book 1.487, Boyd's uses es for the acc. pl. of inermis. Pharr uses inermis
by vir litterarum
Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:50 am
Forum: Open Board
Topic: Which Aeneid is accurate?
Replies: 2
Views: 910

Which Aeneid is accurate?

I am currently in an AP Latin course studying Vergil's Aeneid. Before I started this class, I translated Book I and a sizable portion of book II from Pharr's edition over the summer. When I started my AP class, they were using Barbara Weiden Boyd's AP excerpts edition. My question is concerning the ...
by vir litterarum
Sat Sep 24, 2005 4:21 am
Forum: Learning Greek
Topic: Contonation
Replies: 5
Views: 2097

Contonation

I have just recently begun studying Attic Greek and do not fully understand the accentuation system. The question I have concerns the reasons why the acute can only be on the antepenultimate syllable if the ultima is short. Does every word in Greek follow the rule that only one mora can follow conto...