Textkit Logo

Inserting macrons into text

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.

Moderators: thesaurus, Jeff Tirey

Inserting macrons into text

Postby jamesbath » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:39 pm

I'd like to hear a variety of ways people insert macrons into their Latin writing. The best I can do so far is to copy a macronized (if that is a word) letter from another place and paste it into my text. Anybody know an easier way, more efficient way?
jamesbath
Textkit Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Charleston, SC, USA

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jaihare » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:59 pm

See what you think of this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Help:Macrons

I am using it now, and it works. āēīōū :)
Jason Hare
jaihare@gmail.com

ὁ μὲν Παῦλος τοὺς ἐν ταῖς ἐκκλησίαις μαθητὰς τὴν χωρὶς νόμου δικαιοσύνην τὴν ἐν Χριστῷ ἐδίδασκεν, οἱ δ᾿ ἄλλοι ἀπόστολοι τοὺς ἀνθρώπους ἐδίδασκον τηρεῖν τὸν θεῖον νόμον τὸν χειρὶ Μωϋσέως δοθέντα.
User avatar
jaihare
Textkit Enthusiast
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:47 am
Location: Israel

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jamesbath » Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:24 am

Thank you for that tip. It looks promising. I will download it tomorrow. Do you know if there are any issues in using it with Vista?
jamesbath
Textkit Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Charleston, SC, USA

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jaihare » Mon Apr 06, 2009 4:19 am

I wouldn't expect any problems, since it's created for Windows all platforms. You could also just use the Alt key with the number sequences, if you don't want to install any software.
Jason Hare
jaihare@gmail.com

ὁ μὲν Παῦλος τοὺς ἐν ταῖς ἐκκλησίαις μαθητὰς τὴν χωρὶς νόμου δικαιοσύνην τὴν ἐν Χριστῷ ἐδίδασκεν, οἱ δ᾿ ἄλλοι ἀπόστολοι τοὺς ἀνθρώπους ἐδίδασκον τηρεῖν τὸν θεῖον νόμον τὸν χειρὶ Μωϋσέως δοθέντα.
User avatar
jaihare
Textkit Enthusiast
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:47 am
Location: Israel

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jaihare » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:34 pm

Whāt dō yōū thīnk? Cān yōū ādd mācrōns? :)
Jason Hare
jaihare@gmail.com

ὁ μὲν Παῦλος τοὺς ἐν ταῖς ἐκκλησίαις μαθητὰς τὴν χωρὶς νόμου δικαιοσύνην τὴν ἐν Χριστῷ ἐδίδασκεν, οἱ δ᾿ ἄλλοι ἀπόστολοι τοὺς ἀνθρώπους ἐδίδασκον τηρεῖν τὸν θεῖον νόμον τὸν χειρὶ Μωϋσέως δοθέντα.
User avatar
jaihare
Textkit Enthusiast
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:47 am
Location: Israel

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jamesbath » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:55 pm

Jason,

I kept getting an "Incomplete" install after I downloaded the program and tried, several times, to install it. I think my internet firewall bombed it out, even though I kept telling it to let the program through. I'll try it again later when I have more time.

In the meanwhile, someone pointed me to the following url which showed a good, if a bit cumbersome, way to get macrons as well as many, many other accent symbols over the letters of the alphabet:

http://www.personal.psu.edu/staff/e/j/e ... acron.html

Thanks,
James
jamesbath
Textkit Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Charleston, SC, USA

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby modus.irrealis » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:27 am

The ALT codes don't work for me -- all the normal ones do, 0255 and smaller, so I can get acute accent and umlauts and things, but the macrons don't work. Does anyone have an idea why this isn't working for me? I've searched online and found nothing, except that, seeing as I have Vista, it should work.
modus.irrealis
Textkit Zealot
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 6:08 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby Lex » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:37 am

modus.irrealis wrote:The ALT codes don't work for me -- all the normal ones do, 0255 and smaller, so I can get acute accent and umlauts and things, but the macrons don't work. Does anyone have an idea why this isn't working for me? I've searched online and found nothing, except that, seeing as I have Vista, it should work.


>255 codes don't work for me either (using Windows Vista Home Premium) when I try them with Notepad or IE/Textkit, but they do work with Wordpad.
I, Lex Llama, super genius, will one day rule this planet! And then you'll rue the day you messed with me, you damned dirty apes!
User avatar
Lex
Textkit Zealot
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 6:34 pm
Location: A top-secret underground llama lair.

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby modus.irrealis » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:51 am

Yeah, I tried it now and also works for me with Wordpad, but not with anything else. Oh well, I don't use macrons all that often, so copying and pasting from Character Map isn't really a hassle.
modus.irrealis
Textkit Zealot
 
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 6:08 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby Lex » Tue Apr 07, 2009 4:36 am

I keep a text file in my Greek folder that contains a key for the Greek polytonic keyboard keystrokes, some of which are so arcane I never seem to remember them. I also have characters in there that have no Greek polytonic keyboard equivalent, such as alpha+acute+macron for Homeric plural genitive case (only works with the New Athena Unicode font). I cut/pasted them from Character Map to the file. Then I cut/paste them from that file to my Pharr exercise files. It makes things a little easier.
I, Lex Llama, super genius, will one day rule this planet! And then you'll rue the day you messed with me, you damned dirty apes!
User avatar
Lex
Textkit Zealot
 
Posts: 732
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 6:34 pm
Location: A top-secret underground llama lair.

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jaihare » Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:41 pm

jamesbath wrote:Jason,

I kept getting an "Incomplete" install after I downloaded the program and tried, several times, to install it. I think my internet firewall bombed it out, even though I kept telling it to let the program through. I'll try it again later when I have more time.

In the meanwhile, someone pointed me to the following url which showed a good, if a bit cumbersome, way to get macrons as well as many, many other accent symbols over the letters of the alphabet:

http://www.personal.psu.edu/staff/e/j/e ... acron.html

Thanks,
James


Good luck with getting it set up. It is nice to have it active, since it's really easy to do all of the diacriticals. āéîòü

Hope it works for you soon. Using character map isn't so hot.
Jason Hare
jaihare@gmail.com

ὁ μὲν Παῦλος τοὺς ἐν ταῖς ἐκκλησίαις μαθητὰς τὴν χωρὶς νόμου δικαιοσύνην τὴν ἐν Χριστῷ ἐδίδασκεν, οἱ δ᾿ ἄλλοι ἀπόστολοι τοὺς ἀνθρώπους ἐδίδασκον τηρεῖν τὸν θεῖον νόμον τὸν χειρὶ Μωϋσέως δοθέντα.
User avatar
jaihare
Textkit Enthusiast
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:47 am
Location: Israel

Re: Inserting macrons into text

Postby jamesbath » Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:43 pm

Thanks. I'll keep plugging at it, because it does sound like a very helpful utility. I'll let you know when I solve my problem with the install.

James
jamesbath
Textkit Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:51 am
Location: Charleston, SC, USA


Return to Open Board

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 34 guests