Over Thirty Years Ago: An Introduction

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
chexmix
Textkit Neophyte

Over Thirty Years Ago: An Introduction

Post by chexmix »

Greetings from Arlington, Massachusetts!

I studied Ancient Greek back in what seems an eternity ago, 1979-80, at the College of Wooster in Ohio. If I recall correctly, I had three quarters worth: in the first quarter we used what must have been a very early version of the Luschnig text (I recall that it was bound like a book but looked more typed than typeset); in quarter two we did something from the New Testament (one of the Johannine Letters, I think); and I can't remember what we did in the third quarter.

By that third quarter I was not doing at all well with the Greek, hypnotized away as I was from most worthwhile academic efforts by my newfound obsession with theatre ... and I could mutter for pages about THAT, and will not. Unless someone asks.

So I find myself at this stage with a reborn, lively interest in trying to teach myself Greek -- and perhaps, if I become ambitious and my free time expands, Latin as well. I'm very glad to have found this site -- the level of discourse appears to be high, and civil to boot, which is saying something these days.

I work at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. Around the age of 40, I'd shaken off the last clinging desire to ever touch theatre again, and began moving back, much the worse for mental wear, toward math and science. My original love was astronomy, and I'd planned to study it in college before the theatre bug bit. I'm only righting that wrong now via online courses.

This year I received the dubious gift of a heart attack over Memorial Day, while climbing a small mountain in New Hampshire. How time and vitality fly! Fortunately, I have a nutball black cat named Oort Cloud. She keeps me going.