Using Latin Series

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
spqr
Textkit Fan

Using Latin Series

Post by spqr »

Using Latin is a series of three books which takes the student from basic grammar(not just Latin but English as well) to longer and more difficult stories plus there is a plethora of illustrations. I used the first book myself back in the 60s when I was a freshman in high school. I always thought these books gave a good balance between the grammar and real reading experience as opposed to many books today which are top heavy with one or the other. I have often wondered why these books dropped out of the lexicon of Latin textbooks. In a fit of nostalgia I purchased old used copies of all three books from Ebay or Amazon and they are just as I remember. Are there any Forum members familiar with these books?

Gregarius
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Using Latin Series

Post by Gregarius »

Yes! This was the book I first learned from in high school, uh, somewhat later. Our copies of the books were pretty beat-up. We loved these books. I can still quote from the first reading in the book. "casa non est casa magna". I still remember snickering as a teenage boy at the lines about "Jason et Medea in silva", and what all that implied.

For some reason, Jenny beat out "Using Latin" in the market, but I loved the stories in Using Latin, and thought it was very effective.

I don't think we ever got to volume III, just the first two, then off to Caesar.

sacaro
Textkit Neophyte

Re: Using Latin Series

Post by sacaro »

My name is Sebastián Caro. I am from Chile. I am a Latin teacher in schools and colleges. I am always looking for new methods and textbooks for improving my classes and the learning of my students.