Hi, I Just Got Here

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
GoPliny
Textkit Neophyte

Hi, I Just Got Here

Post by GoPliny »

Hi, I'm GoPliny. I am brand new to Latin, and am very excited and nervous about jumping in. I'm also new to forums, so a nudge in the right direction on either point will always be appreciated. I have a certain amount of geography under my belt. It always fascinated me when I would find a tidbit about Pliny the Elder and Younger. Now is my time to find out more. I also love to write, and realize that Latin is a major key in the craft that I am lacking. Well, have a day, I'll see you on the beginning Latin board.

William
Textkit Fan

Post by William »

Hi, GoPliny. Welcome to the forum.

What texts are you using to study Latin? Best of luck to you in your studies!

WB

GoPliny
Textkit Neophyte

Post by GoPliny »

Hi William,
I downloaded Latin for Beginner's by Benjamin L. D'Ooge. I also downloaded Before You Know It 3.5\Lite from another site. It's a freebie vocabulary software, with an offer to buy a more extensive version. I saw some vocab tutorials on this site and the forum that coincides with the book, so that should be a full start. Rodeo and Latin make an interesting profile. Are you a study in contrast?

Bardo de Saldo
Textkit Enthusiast

Post by Bardo de Saldo »

Welcome, GoPliny. Latin is not my shtick, but if you need a bard for your First Communion, Bar Mitzbah, wedding or funereal needs, just give me a holler. I'm willing to pay up to 50 cents per unplugged ear!

William
Textkit Fan

Post by William »

GoPliny wrote:Hi William,
I downloaded Latin for Beginner's by Benjamin L. D'Ooge. I also downloaded Before You Know It 3.5\Lite from another site. Rodeo and Latin make an interesting profile. Are you a study in contrast?
Hi GoPliny,