Textkit Logo

Hello Everybody

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.

Hello Everybody

Postby danny » Thu Aug 11, 2005 2:23 pm

I'm currently studying for a philosophy degree and have just completed a course on Plato and Aristotle. I found both them and the subject of Ancient Greece fascinating and I have decided that I would someday like to be able to read the Greek philosophers in the original language. I have consequently enrolled on the Open University (UK) course on.......Beginner's Latin! Initially I thought that Latin would be a simpler introduction to learning an inflected language and that I would then learn Greek quicker. However, I now (more sensibly) feel that I would like to learn Latin for it's own sake (being able to read Virgil in the original would be as cool as reading Aristotle in the original). I still intend to go onto Greek, probably through the Open University as well. If anyone out there has any experience of OU Latin or Greek courses and could let me know what to expect I would love to hear from you. Being a typical Brit. the only language I currently know is English. The course starts in January 2006 and any tips as to what I could do to prepare myself would also be gratefully received. I've already bought a book called "Teach Yourself Beginner's Latin" although I haven't really opened it yet. I look forward to hearing from you all.
danny
Textkit Neophyte

Postby PhilipF » Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:21 pm