Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
Mansella
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Mansella »

I'm not very good at technology. How do I upload an image from my pc rather than from a webpage for my avatar?

Jeff Tirey
Administrator

Re:avatars

Post by Jeff Tirey »

Hi Mansella<br /><br />just e-mail me the image and I'll post it on our server and provide you with the link to pull it onto the forum pages.<br /><br />... I need to write a image upload script for forum members.<br /><br />jeff<br /><br />
Textkit Founder

Mansella
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Mansella »

how many pixels does it need to be?<br />

Jeff Tirey
Administrator

Post by Jeff Tirey »

no more than 100 pixels wide should be good. Send it to me at jeff@textkit.com<br /><br />j
Textkit Founder

mariek
Global Moderator

Post by mariek »

[quote author=jeff link=board=6;threadid=277;start=0#1699 date=1058788825]... I need to write a image upload script for forum members.[/quote]<br />That would be super cool! I had tweaked a picture and put it on Tripod, but the picture stopped appearing after a while for no apparent reason (maybe they don't allow linking to it?). So ever since then, I've been hijacking another image from someone else's webpage.

Jeff Tirey
Administrator

Post by Jeff Tirey »

(maybe they don't allow linking to it?). <br />
<br /><br />I bet that's the case, its generally considered a no-no to pull images from servers that are not your own. <br /><br />The image upload/resize feature is not what's holding me back, I have been putting it off because I would want to have the upload featured bundled with the forum interface.<br /><br />Also, image resizing can only work on .jpg and .png - another issue.<br /><br />jeff
Textkit Founder

Jeff Tirey
Administrator

Post by Jeff Tirey »

jeff wrote:<br />
(maybe they don't allow linking to it?). <br />