Delayed Introduction

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
ricelius
Textkit Neophyte

Delayed Introduction

Post by ricelius »

Hello all!

Seeing that I signed up here almost a year ago, it seems a little late for an introduction. But I believe I never made one in the first place, and better late than never eh?

My name is Anders and I'm a Danish high school student primarily enrolled in math and physics courses, but I'm very interested in Latin and Roman culture and managed to get my Danish teacher (who also happens to have a master's in classics) to teach me Latin. So I've been "officially" learning it for almost a year now and have an exam just tomorrow... Wish me luck... :)

I noticed that some people here seem to have a very good grasp of Latin (better than I do of English), and I was wondering if you could disclose some hints about how you learned it that well? Is it mostly a matter of experience, i.e. reading a lot of classical works? What would you suggest to a newbie who's very enthusiastic but who doesn't necessarily know the language that well yet? Also, I was wondering, what do all the Latin (and Greek) sharks do for a living? I know that Latin's far from a dead language, but still, what can you actually do with a classics degree besides teaching? I would really like to go to university and study Latin, but I'm not sure which use I could actually put it to.

So, here I am, old member but new face! I'm happy to be here, this is a very friendly community.

Valete!

ricelius

Thucydides
Textkit Fan

Post by Thucydides »

Good teachers. Good teachers. Good teachers.

A good teacher is worth their weight in gold.

Barrius
Textkit Member

Post by Barrius »

Salve Ricelius! I'll be asking you for help :lol:

ricelius
Textkit Neophyte

Post by ricelius »

Barrius wrote:Salve Ricelius! I'll be asking you for help :lol: