Textkit Logo

Salvete! (an introduction)

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.

Moderators: thesaurus, Jeff Tirey

Salvete! (an introduction)

Postby dlp » Thu Mar 18, 2004 1:39 pm

Hello, my name is Dave Phillips, I'm 53 and have been studying Latin (and a little Greek) mostly on my own for about 30 years. My main interest has been classical and Medieval Latin poetry, with some prose thrown in now and then. My Better Half and I are currently studying Italian (we've visited Tuscany a few times in the past couple of years), and my Latin background has proven to be a great aid to learning the Italian language.

I started teaching myself Latin from a Latin Made Simple book, then I started private language studies with Dr. Richard Hebein at Bowling Green State University (USA). I studied Latin & Greek grammar and literature with Dr Hebein for two years, then I undertook a reading course based on Matthew Arnold's advice ("Read nothing but Greek & Latin for two years").