Hi! I'm new...

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
SilentFlight
Textkit Neophyte

Hi! I'm new...

Post by SilentFlight »

I'm looking forward to meeting everyone here. This is my first attempt to learn Latin... :idea: :!: I'm taking this on as an independent learner simply because I find the origin of word(s) to be interesting. I'm interested in the sacred aspects that cultivated written languages. I hope this doesn't sound too weird :shock:
I would be interested in hearing from any of you who have studied language origins, and the ancient intent of such.
Last edited by SilentFlight on Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

xn
Textkit Neophyte

Hi! I'm new...

Post by xn »

Hello there!

I can appreciate your interest in word origins. The quest for aspects of the sacred in seemingly mundane subjects has inspired people for millennia, so if it be weird, at least you’re upholding a fine tradition. :) The Oxford Latin Dictionary is a marvelous source for Latin word origins; if you have a large book budget, I’d recommend it.

xn

klewlis
Global Moderator

Post by klewlis »

welcome here! and all the best in your new endeavour. be sure to ask any questions you may have.
First say to yourself what you would be; then do what you need to do. ~Epictetus

solitario
Textkit Neophyte

Post by solitario »

Salve SilentFlight!
Hello and welcome to TextKit.
Vale bene!

Helen of Troy
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Helen of Troy »

I can't think of better place for a good etymological discussion then Texkit! People here are very eager to discuss all kind of linguistic and filological metters and are very good in doing it too. Since coming from all over the world, they all have a different approach to the problem. That is what I find more then useful!

So, WILLKOMMEN :D !

MDS
Textkit Fan

Post by MDS »