the Symposium and Shakespeare

Textkit is a learning community- introduce yourself here. Use the Open Board to introduce yourself, chat about off-topic issues and get to know each other.
N. Kowalski
Textkit Neophyte

the Symposium and Shakespeare

Post by N. Kowalski »

Hi everyone,

Very glad to have found this forum today. Long ago in high school I studied Latin and liked it, but haven't taken it up since then - just the odd word
looked up, and some English translations of poetry, and of writings of Caesar and Hadrian. As a retired architect I now just follow my nose so to speak, and recently have been studying some Shakespeare ahead of the performances this summer at the annual Shakespeare festival nearby, here in Ontario. At the same time I have been
on the trail of the 'real' Shakespeare, ie the 17th Earl of Oxford, Edward de Vere - who it seems may have been a son of Elizabeth 1st - who was educated at Cambridge, and Oxford as well as at Grey's Inn, London.

In his play 'Timon of Athens' an important character is called Alcibaides. We were
wondering if at Shakespeare's time, the 16th century, in England, Plato's SYMPOSIUM
was known/ sudied - either in Greek or in Latin. Seem to be some connections in the
characterization and action. (The Shakepeare from Stratford was barely educated.)

What a marvellous story the Symposium is - I just heard of it, but hope to read it
soon myself - in English only I'm afraid. But.......

Will be grateful for any help here - especially about the Symposium being known.

PS Can I contribute anything - past experience?
Spent some time as volunteer digger at Hadrian's wall
Visited many wonderful Roman sites in UK and Europe.

Look forward to chatting with anyone who may have interests in the Romans - esp their culture and architecture.

Cheers!
NK

Helen of Troy
Textkit Neophyte

Post by Helen of Troy »